Hanseatic City of Lüneburg

A richness of salt

Map
Gallery
Location
Phone / Contact
opening hours
Youtube
Lüneburg

The Hanseatic city of Lüneburg is located 50 km southeast of Hamburg in the north of the Lüneburg Heath. The Ilmenau River flows through Lüneburg, which later flows into the Elbe River.


Lüneburg - many highlights await you

The history of Lüneburg is rich in highlights. The first traces of human settlement date back to the time of the Neanderthals. Lüneburg was first mentioned in a document of King Otto I in 956 in a document of Lüne Monastery.


Lüneburg - one of the most beautiful old towns in Germany

The city of Lüneburg was not destroyed in the 2nd World War and thus has one of the most beautiful old towns in Germany. The typical facades of the brick Gothic, the many sights and anecdotes make it so attractive for tourists. 


The history of the city can be discovered particularly well in the Museum for the Principality of Lüneburg (Museum für das Fürstentum Lüneburg).


Lüneburg in a daily soap

Lüneburg has become known all over Germany through a daily TV programme on the German channel ARD. It is called Rote Rosen (Red Roses), which is also filmed almost daily in the city and around it. With a little luck you can watch an outside filming.


Lüneburg and the salt

The wealth of the Hanseatic city of Lüneburg is based on salt. A large part of the city is undermined by a salt dome, with which the monopoly position as a salt supplier to the Hanseatic League was established. Lüneburg was an early and very rich member of the Hanseatic League. The wealth is particularly visible in the buildings of the city. In the salt museum you can learn about the whole history.


Salt boiling master

The Sülfmeister (salt boiling masters), who today are elected annually at a major event, were the rulers of the town at that time. The council of the city of Lüneburg was able to acquire extensive rights for the city due to its wealth. Thus the church buildings in Lüneburg are still owned by the town, not by the church.


Salt today

In memory of the salt extraction, a bone of the Salzsau still hangs in the old chancellery of the Lüneburg town hall. The story is told that a hunter hunted a sow whose fur was covered with salt crystals. This is how the salt was discovered underground. From that day on it was extracted through the boiling process.


Subsidence area

Besides the wealth, the salt also brings problems to the city. Today the ground in the so-called subsidence area of the old town above the salt dome sinks dramatically and has already destroyed several buildings.


Lüne Monastery

Besides a great shopping experience, there is a lot to see in Lüneburg. The Lüne Monastery, still inhabited by a convent of ladies, is one of the origins of the city.


Water Quarter

In the historic water district, where salt was once loaded onto ships, you will now find numerous restaurants and pubs. Because of Lüneburg's university, it is now the city with the second highest density of pubs in Europe. At the Stintmarkt in the Wasserviertel you can find the old crane with which the ships were loaded.


Town Hall

The town hall of Lüneburg is one of the largest in Northern Germany and actually consists of several buildings along the whole street. During a tour of the town hall you will learn incredible stories about the aldermen and their activities. This is highly recommended for every holidaymaker.


Heinrich Heine House

Next to the town hall is the Heinrich Heine House, where the poet's parents lived from 1822 to 1826. Heine wrote several poems here. Nowadays people can get married here.


The pregnant house

The pregnant house in Waagestraße was created by incorrectly burnt gypsum mortar, which in the course of time absorbed water and expanded. However, it is a rumour that particularly child-wanting couples come here and touch the house wall.


St. Johanniskirche and the leaning tower

Not only Pisa has a leaning tower, Lüneburg also has one. Because the tower of the church St. Johannis is 2.20 m out of balance. But the church is not only known for its leaning tower, also the famous Johann Sebastian Bach learned to play the organ and compose here.


"Am Sande" 

The square Am Sande next to the church used to bear his name rightly: it was sandy. Here the merchants parked their horse carriages and sold their goods. Around the square you can find particularly splendid gable houses.


Water tower

The Lüneburg water tower with its viewing terrace at 56 m height offers a great view over the city. It is especially radiant during the Advent season, when Germany's highest Advent wreath is installed. With an SMS you can make the lights shine and support a project supporting children.

Gallery

    Vacationers will find an attractive city with many sights as well as many shopping options and events in Lüneburg. Beside the well-known city festival (Stadtfest) it is especially the Sülfmeistertage that are worth visiting. An overview of all events can be found here.

    Youtube

    Location
    Am Markt 1
    21335 Lüneburg
    Contact
    Phone
    Tourist Information Lüneburg +49 4131 2076644

    Email
    opening hours
    Opening hours in season (May until October and during the Christmas Markets)
    Monday - Friday 9.30am - 6pm
    Saturday 9.30am – 4pm
    Sunday 10am - 4pm
    Opening hours off season (January until March)
    Monday - Friday 9.30am - 6pm
    Saturday 9.30am - 2pm
    Sunday closed
    Opening hours in April and November
    Monday - Friday 9.30am - 6pm
    Saturday 9.30am - 2pm
    Sunday 10am - 2pm
    Map

Lüneburg

Google Suche

Unterkunft suchen

Detailsuche

Lüneburg

Lüneburg

    Die Hansestadt Lüneburg liegt 50 km südöstlich von Hamburg im Norden der Lüneburger Heide. Durch Lüneburg fliesst die Ilmenau, die später in die Elbe mündet.


    Die Geschichte Lüneburgs ist reich an Höhepunkten. Bereits aus der Zeit der Neandertaler gibt es die ersten Spuren menschlicher Besiedlung. Erstmalig urkundlich erwähnt wurde Lüneburg im Jahr 956 in einer Urkunde König Otto des I. zum Kloster Lüne.


    Die Stadt Lüneburg ist im 2. Weltkrieg nicht zerstört worden und verfügt so über eine der schönsten Altstädte Deutschlands. Die typischen Giebel der Backsteingotik, die vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Anekdoten machen sie für Urlauber so attraktiv. Die Stadtgeschichte kann man sich besonders gut im Museum für das Fürstentum Lüneburg ansehen.


    Bekannt geworden ist Lüneburg in ganz Deutschland durch die tägliche ARD Sendung Rote Rosen, die in der Stadt und einem Hotel auch fast täglich gedreht wird. Mit etwas Glück kann man bei den Außendreharbeiten zusehen.


    Der Reichtum der Hansestadt Lüneburg basiert auf Salz. Ein Großteil der Stadt ist unterhöhlt von einem Salzstock, mit dem die Monopolstellung als Salzlieferant der Hanse begründet wurde. Lüneburg war ein frühes und sehr reiches Mitglied der Hanse. Der Reichtum ist besonders an den Gebäuden der Stadt sichtbar. Im Salzmuseum erfährt man die ganze Geschichte dazu.


    Die Sülfmeister (Salzsiedemeister), die heute jährlich auf einer großen Veranstaltung gekürt werden, waren damals die Herrscher der Stadt. Der Rat der Stadt Lüneburg konnte aufgrund des Reichtums umfangreiche Rechte für die Stadt erwerben. So sind bis heute die Kirchengebäude in Lüneburg im Besitz der Stadt, nicht im Besitz der Kirche.


    Als Andenken an die Salzgewinnung hängt heute noch ein Knochen der Salzsau in der alten Kanzlei des Rathauses Lüneburg. Man erzählt sich nämlich die Geschichte, dass ein Jäger eine Sau jagte, deren Fell mit Salzkristallen bedeckt war. So fand man das Salz in der Erde und gewann es durch den Siedevorgang.


    Neben dem Reichtum beschert das Salz der Stadt aber auch Probleme. Heute sinkt der Boden im so genannten Senkungsgebiet der Stadt über dem Salzstock dramatisch ab und hat schon mehrere Gebäude zerstört.


    Neben einem tollen Shopping-Erlebnis gibt es in Lüneburg viel zu sehen. Das bis heute noch von einem Damenkonvent bewohnte Kloster Lüne ist ein Ursprung der Stadt. 


    Aber auch die anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Lüneburg sollte man besuchen.


    Im historischen Wasserviertel, wo früher das Salz auf die Lastkähne verladen wurde, gibt es heute zahlreiche Restaurants und Kneipen. Denn durch seinen Universitätsstandort ist Lüneburg heute die Stadt mit der zweithöchsten Kneipendichte Europas. Am Stintmarkt im Wasserviertel findet man den alten Kran, mit dem die Kähne beladen wurden.


    Das Rathaus der Stadt ist eines der größten in Norddeutschland und besteht eigentlich aus mehreren Gebäuden entlang der ganzen Strasse. Bei einer Rathausführung erfährt man unglaubliche Geschichten von den Ratsherren und ihrem Tun und Treiben. Das ist für jeden Urlauber unbedingt zu empfehlen.


    Neben dem Rathaus findet sich das Heinrich Heine Haus, in dem die Eltern des Dichters von 1822 bis 1826 wohnten. Heine verfasste hier mehrere Gedichte.


    Das schwangere Haus in der Waagestrasse entstand durch falsch gebrannten Gipsmörtel, der im Laufe der Zeit Wasser aufnahm und sich ausdehnt. Es ist aber ein Gerücht, dass besonders kinderwillige Paare hier her kommen und die Hauswand berühren.


    Nicht nur Pisa hat einen schiefen Turm, auch Lüneburg kann damit aufwarten. Denn der Kirchturm der Kirche St. Johannis ist 2,20 m aus dem Lot geraten. Aber die Kirche ist nicht nur durch den schiefen Turm bekannt, auch der berühmte Johann Sebastian Bach lernte hier das Orgelspielen und Komponieren.


    Der Platz Am Sande neben der Kirche trug seinen Namen früher zu Recht: er war sandig. Hier stellen die Kaufleute Ihre Pferdewagen ab und verkauften ihre Ware. Rund um den Platz findet man besonders prächtige Giebelhäuser.


    Der Lüneburger Wasserturm mit seiner Aussichtsterrasse in 56 m Höhe bietet einen tollen Blick über die Stadt. Besonders zum Strahlen kommt er in der Adventszeit, denn dann wird Deutschlands höchster Adventskranz installiert. Mit einer SMS kann man die Lichter zum Leuchten bringen und unterstützt damit gleich ein Projekt für Kinder.


    Heute ist Lüneburg sehr bekannt durch die ARD Telenovela Rote Rosen, die mittlerweile auch ein wichtiger Faktor für den Tourismus in Lüneburg ist.


    Urlauber finden neben einer attraktiven Stadt mit vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten auch viele Veranstaltungen in Lüneburg. Neben dem bekannten Stadtfest sind es insbesondere die Sülfmeistertage, die sehenswert sind. Einen Überblick über alle Veranstaltungen finden Sie hier.


    Video
    Karte
    Standort
    Am Markt 1
    21335 Lüneburg

    Telefon
    Tourist Information Lüneburg 0800-220 50 05 (kostenfrei)
    Telefax
    Tourist Information Lüneburg 04131-2076644

    Sehenswürdigkeiten und Attraktionen in Lüneburg

    Facebook Twitter Youtube