Book online now!

Soderstorf: Soderstorf watermill in Amelinghausen holiday region

©Partner der Lüneburger Heide GmbH
©Partner der Lüneburger Heide GmbH
©Partner der Lüneburger Heide GmbH

Basic history

Soderstorf watermill was first testified in 1427. The mill has been owned by the Vogt family since 1650 and has been used in its long history as a grain mill, oil mill, groat mill, bark mill, and saw mill. In the 1960s, Soderstorf watermill was only used for personal needs and has stood silent since then.

The current buildings on the Mill Island, which is surrounded by the river Luhe and the mill race, are from the early 19th century. The small building facing the street is the bakery and the larger half-timbered house on the edge of the trees is the mill building.


Soderstorf water mill cannot be visited and access to the mill island is currently not possible for safety reasons. The watermill can only be viewed from the road.

The Lower Saxon Mill Route

Follow the Lower Saxon Mill Route and discover up to 256 mills in 17 districts of Lower Saxony.

Gifhorn International Wind and Water Mills Museum

Wind and water mills have been the "engine" of the economy for centuries. In addition to economic, work and social impact, the "cultural heritage" mills have shaped the appearance of landscapes and towns to this day. The interesting history and the fascinating technology of the wind and water mills is presented in detail and informative at Gifhorn International Wind and Water Mills Museum.