Cloister Wienhausen - North German redbrick Gothic gem
The monastery Wienhausen is located in the monastery community Wienhausen and is today probably the best known of the six heath monasteries.
Besides Wienhausen, the six medieval nunneries include: Ebstorf, Walsrode, Isenhagen, Lüne and Medingen.
How did the Wienhausen monastery come to be founded?
The Wienhausen monastery was founded around 1230 by Agnes von Landsberg, a daughter-in-law of Heinrich the Lion, Duchess in Celleal's Cistercian nunnery. It was confirmed in 1233 by the bishop of Hildesheim.
The first nuns and their abbess came from the prestigious Wöltingerode monastery near Goslar. As the Cistercian Order intended, twelve nuns and one abbess lived in the monastery. The exact number is based on the twelve disciples around Jesus Christ.
Since the Reformation in the 16th century, the monastery has been run as an Evangelical Lutheran women's monastery.
Jewel of North German brick gothic - impressive architecture
The Wienhausen monastery is a work of art in northern German brick Gothic style and has a magnificent and unique double gable. Among the important buildings still preserved from the beginning are the west wing with its painted nun's choir (restored in 1995), the All Saints Chapel and the chapter hall. The magnificent summer refectory has been restored using existing Gothic elements and invites to numerous cultural events in the monastery.
Valuable works of art at Wienhausen Monastery
Since the Wienhausen monastery has been spared war and fire, it still possesses a large number and variety of astonishing works of art from the Middle Ages.
In addition to the beautiful murals and impressive sculptures, the world-famous Gothic tapestries from the 13th to 15th centuries are particularly fascinating.
In the monastery museum, in addition to many exhibits testifying to the varied history of the monastery, works of art and objects from the everyday life of the inhabitants are exhibited. Many objects were found in 1953 during renovation work under the floorboards of the choir stall in the nun's choir. Pilgrim signs, spindles, devotional pictures, styluses, notepads, manuscripts and medieval glasses. These glasses, whose frames were made of boxwood - as well as lime wood, are the oldest studded glasses in the world!
Textile and Monastery Museum with audio tour from 14th of may to 18th of October 2020 in German, English, French and Spanish
Tues - Sat and on non-church holidays from 11:00 to 17:30 o'clock
Sundays from 12:00 to 17:30 o'clock
closed on Mondays
Adults: 8,00 €
Pupils and students: 5,00 €
Combined ticket (monastery and carpets): 10,00 € for adults and 5,00 € for pupils/students
Personal combined tour from 10 pers. and with registration: 12,00 €
The Textile Museum and the Monastery Museum closes at 5.30 pm.
Theme tours 2020
Coloures in the nun's choir
Excursus into a colour world
Composition and meaning of the paintings in the nun's choir
Saturday, 14th of june, 5.30 pm
With all senses - New "With all senses ... find the middle"
On the international day of the labyrinth we invite you to visit our beautiful monastery labyrinth in the inner courtyard.
Saturday, 09th of may, 5:00 pm
Saturday, 20th of june, 5:00 pm
See for yourself,
taste what a monastery feels like!
Saturday, 15th of august 2020, 5:00 pm
All theme tours only with registration:05149/18660 or firstname.lastname@example.org
The number of participants is limited
Get a glimpse behind the monastery walls and learn more about life in the monastery Wienhausen in our exciting history.
Come to the sung evening prayer!
Every Friday at 6:00 p.m., "Sung Evening Prayer in the Nuns' Choir."
from 03th of april - 25th of september 2020. Entrance via the main entrance.
Guests are very welcome!
Tip: "1000 steps through Wienhausen", discover our beautiful historical village on this guided tour.
The dates for 2021will be announced as soon as possible.
We look forward to your visit!